Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Do you accept special needs children?
TXhomedaycare 11:45 AM 09-22-2015
I just received a call and set up an interview with a mom who has a 5 year old son with down syndrome. She said he is being bullied at his current daycare center and thinks it is because there are to many (18) kids on the class. She said he did great at home daycare before with 6 kids. I advised her I have no training or experience with special needs children and she said she didn't either before she had him. My only concern is that I will have to learn while handling 5 other kids. Right now I have a mixed age group my youngest 16 months and my oldest 4 yo. My initial thought was to say no since I don't feel comfortable and my group is very active (walk to the park and around the neighborhood ). She said he does not talk, wears pull ups, and plays to himself and has mild form of down syndrome. I feel overwhelmed sometimes with my current group (one is moving out of the country in 2 weeks), I just finished my first year in this line of work and finally feel like I am starting to get this thing down, but feel really stressed at times since my youngest and oldest are my children and work never stops. Please let meveryone know if you take special needs kids and your suggestions.
Ariana 12:03 PM 09-22-2015