Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>9 1/2 Late on Some Physical Milestones
MarinaVanessa 01:00 PM 09-12-2018
Ok, ladies, I need some advice.
I have a 9 1/2 month old who for the most part meets every milestone. The only two things she's having a problem with is rolling from tummy to back (can roll from back to tummy just fine) and has not started to attempt sitting up yet.
EDIT: 3 things, she's not crawling yet either.
Normally I wouldn't be bothered but she started rolling from back to tummy at 5 months and has not progressed at to rolling from tummy to back since then. She attempts but there's no progress, she doesn't tuck her arm in at all. Ever.

Here is what I have been doing with her so far since around 6 months:
- She's on the floor the majority of the time, I mean it. She spends about 80% of her time on the floor.
- When she rolls from back to tummy and then gets stuck I encourage her to try to get her to roll over on her own (smiling, "come on", toys, snacks etc) until she starts to cry from not wanting to be on her tummy anymore, I stretch her arm either over her head or tuck it on her side, nudge her slightly to try to get herself to roll, and end up rolling her over. Rinse and repeat.
- I use 0 baby equipment, not even a swing, other than a highchair when she's eating.
- I don't strap her shoulders into the highchair, just the lap belt and I don't put anything around her lap to support her (like a towel blanket or something) and she always ends up leaning to one side or another after a few minutes. She can't support her upper body.
- I sit with her between my outstretched legs using them as lower support only so that she does not fall over and she has terrible balance. The longest that I've clocked her at sitting without falling over while I'm not touching her is 30 seconds.