Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Potential Client, Should I or Shouldn't I??
tenderhearts 08:21 AM 06-24-2010
I got an email this morning from a female reguarding full time daycare. Yay. but I'm a little hesitant about pursuing it. Not that this really matter in my decision but she used um alot in the email and couldn't spell, no biggie really, but then she said her little girl (22 mo) has luekemia and that she can't be around anyone who is sick at all. That's impossible in a daycare setting, usually someone is contagious before they show syptoms. She's also on DHS (again no biggie other than I've never done it before but am willing to) What do you ladies think, email her back and talk with her?
professionalmom 08:38 AM 06-24-2010
Well, I am REALLY concerned about the little girl's problem with not being around any germs (illnesses). A germ-free daycare is an oxymoron. Just not possible. I think she should talk with her caseworker about that. Maybe they can help her with getting a nanny instead. If exposure to germs could be life-threatening, then daycare could endanger this little girl's life. What a horrible situation for the mother and little girl!

As for the misspellings and "um" in a written form - I would definitely hesitate. Both show a lack of intelligence, IMO. I have dealt with some parents that were so dumb, you wonder how they got to adulthood without killing themselves. I have even told my husband that I'm putting a sign on our front lawn that says, "Must have a minimum IQ of 70 to approach this house or any of it's occupants (people inside)". So, I would be hesitant to take someone with this type of language problem because she may not be able to understand your contract and what she is signing and agreeing to. And who wants the headache of daily arguing over drop-off times, pick-up times, late fees, regular fees, sick days policy, etc.
Janet 08:41 AM 06-24-2010