Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Thinking About Getting Into DC
Unregistered 07:03 AM 12-21-2011
Hi. I am thinking about getting into in home daycare. I have been a teacher for 8 years now. Loved teaching, but NCLB has really ruined it for me more and more over the years. And now RTT (race To the Top) and Common Core are taking the problem and making it even worse, so much worse. I am forced to stay on a pacing guide while teacher, so if I really need to spend more time on something, too bad because the pacing guide says it is only suppose to take one day. I feel so bad for my students. If I could use my own brain and make decisions that make sense for my students I would be all about staying in public education, but at this point I am so frustrated. The paper work is also adding up so I leave my home at 7 AM and most nights I do not get home until after 6PM. At which point it is 2 hours from bedtime for my daughter and I still have not cooked dinner.

Sorry I am getting long winded. Anyway, I have been looking into opening my own in home daycare. I was wondering if there any of you out there that have made the transition from public education to in home daycare and what your thoughts on it were. Or just in general switching from a more traditional job to in home daycare.

I am thinking it will solve a lot of my problems. I can teach how I want to with my preschoolers. I can spend time at home with my daughter and make sure she is getting what she needs. I would be open from 7:30 to 5:30 so I would actually decrease my working hours (I know I would have to clean, but I need to do that anyway). My biggest concerns are getting daycare children. But I have heard I will be fine from people in the area as long as I put myself out there. Any thoughts would be welcome. Thanks.
Michael 03:13 PM 12-21-2011
Suggest you register on this forum. Here is a helpful Thread: https://www.daycare.com/forum/showthread.php?t=598