Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Help Me Rationalize Please - First Day With New DCG
MonkeyingAround 04:07 PM 03-11-2013
Hi everyone!

I am new to being a licensed provider (officially licensed as of February) but not new to being around kids. I have 4 kids myself (ages 10 to 3) and have been around kids (my mom ran a licensed home daycare for 20+ years) and babysat for years. My point being I've met a ton of kids and have a good idea what kids should be doing at certain stages.

To get to the point, I had a new DCG start today. She is a few months shy of 3. This is her very first daycare experience. Her dad watched her from the time she was born up until today. When she came in she cried for only about 3 minutes and then went right to playing. I thought she did great! Well, throughout the day I noticed a few things that worry me.

- she repeatedly kept standing on my coffee table. Seriously she did this like 30 times in a row. each time I would take her down and tell her "we don't stand on furniture". I attempted time-outs but she wouldn't sit. She would get up and run to the coffee table to get up on it again. I ended up holding her in time-out for 2 minutes while she struggled to get away. When I told her she could get up she bolted to the coffee table and did it again!!! AGHHH I really don't think she was trying to be defiant.

- she also has no idea how to eat by herself. by coincidence the mom called me to check on her while I was serving lunch. i told her what we were having (I served 1/2 a chicken burger on a bun, kiwi, bananas, and corn) and she commented that I was feeding her a lot and it must take me a long time spoon feeding all the kids. I was like WHAT?!? spoon feeding? turns out this kid does not know how to feed herself. the parents cut up/spoon feed every meal to her! she told me she does feed herself cheerios, cookies, and pretzels, but that's about it.