Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Dads and Daycare Services
daycaredad 08:45 AM 01-03-2011
Greetings all...
The corporate world had beaten my wife and I to our knees and we have searched high and low...and within, and we have concluded that we would like to start our own day care facility here in our home. I am able to convert the available space and add more since I am a contractor as well.

We are parents of 4 children, ages 13, 6, 5, and 2, and we have been exposed to daycare centers, home facilities and just about everything else in between since we became parents in 1998.

While we are quite aware of the stringent guidelines, red tape, and over head that will come with such an undertaking, I think our biggest concern is...well...me.

Let's face it...I am a man and this is an industry that is dominated by female providers, teachers, and owners. While I am an upstanding citizen with a squeaky clean past and an active volunteer in the community from little league on down to food drives and a devoted father of 4.....I am still a man.

Is there an inherited stigma that comes with a male being involved with the day care daily business? Will this hurt enrollment due to prior conceived notions and prejudgment?

Are there any other father/men who can chime in here? Any female providers with opinions on this?

Thank you for your input and time.
jen 08:55 AM 01-03-2011
My husband had, and on occassion still does, assist me with daycare. So far, it has always been viewed as a plus.

He attends all interviews so that people have the opportunity to meet him and feel comfortable with him providing care to their children. I make sure that prospective clients know he has attended all of the appropriate training and is licensed, as am I. If I get any vibe that they are uncomfortable, I make sure to suggest that they discuss his presence when checking my references. All my daycare families love my hubby.