Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Advice On Taking an Infant
Ariana 10:36 AM 01-05-2016
I have never worked with infants before and have zero experience besides my own two children. I couldn't wait for my own kids to get out of the infant stage I loved it so much

One of my daycare families has a baby and the mom asked me today if I could take him part time come April. He will be 12 months. It would only be part-time 2-3 days a week for a full day.

I am considering it because it is part-time and this baby seems so easygoing. His older sibling was a breeze to transition at 18 months. Having said that this is the family that co-sleeps together and I have been having some issues with older brother sleeping a lot here and I am 100% sure he has Aspbergers (he has been referred for evaluation). For this reason I had been considering terming because he is not social for my daughter (which is the reason I do daycare). I see this as a possible easy way out of this relationship BUT at the same time it is easy $$ for me....I feel torn.

Having no real experience with infants other than my own I want a REAL picture of what life is like with a 12 month old that is not my kid! Come summer I will be home with kids aged 2,3,3 and 6 plus possibly this infant. This might make or break my consideration. PLEASE be honest
laundrymom 10:54 AM 01-05-2016
I wouldn't take a part timer. Especially a young toddler. Nope. Too much trouble to acclimate.
childcaremom 10:59 AM 01-05-2016
Originally Posted by laundrymom:
I wouldn't take a part timer. Especially a young toddler. Nope. Too much trouble to acclimate.
Most of mine start at 12 months. I don't like part time for this age, at all. Esp. knowing that there are possible reasons for sleep issues (co-sleeping).

No thanks!