Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Very Pushy Negotiators
Tigerlilly 06:10 AM 12-26-2017
This might be more of a vent but how do you all manage the pushy negotiators? I have had a bit of interest in my services but I keep getting people that are over the top about negotiations. I am only taking a small number of children and since I am just starting out I am offering the lowest price possible while still covering overhead and paying myself. But people seem to not understand that what is written in my contact is not negotiable.
daycarediva 06:17 AM 12-26-2017
Question from prospective parent you don't want to accommodate ____________________________.

"My policy/rate is _______."

"That won't work for me."

"I am not able to offer ____ at this time."

"No."
Annalee 06:54 AM 12-26-2017
I always reply with "I understand your point of view, but this is how Ms. XXXX operates." This is why I have a 3-step process because the client, as well as myself, have time to consider all aspects of expectations from each other. I have found if someone wants your servces they will do what it takes to comply. There have been so many times, clients have said "I can't be there at that time for pickup" but then they enroll and magically they are there at the correct time for pickup. They pick up on the non-negotiable tone. I am not heartless but through 25+ years have learned to put my own family needs first, not mastered it but working hard on it and much better. Good luck to you in doing the same!
Tigerlilly 07:58 AM 12-26-2017
Originally Posted by Annalee: