Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Integration?
meli829 11:50 AM 08-30-2010
Hi,

I've just opened my home daycare, and will be starting out with two children, one who wants to be integrated beginning next Wednesday and the other next Thursday.

DCM #1 is going to do 8-10am the first day, 8-noon the third and then the full day on the Friday.

DCM #2 wants to start on the Thursday morning for a couple hours (and she wants to stay with her daughter for that period of time which seems to me like it defeats the purpose of integration but I'm new to this so maybe this is how it usually goes?) and then she wants Dcg to stay longer the Friday, then start full day on the Monday.

I have a schedule that I've created in my handbook, but I'm not sure if I should just put the schedule on hold for the integrations days and more or less let them play and get to know me and each other, or if I should still attempt to follow the schedule?

DCM # 2 seemed to love the structure of the schedule and I'm wondering if I don't follow it while she is there, if that will be ok?

I think I'd rather wait until the Monday to start following the schedule and getting the kids used to it, specially since it will be awkward to try to do with one of the DCM's present.

How do integrations work in your daycares? Is it normal for parents to be sticking around for 1-2 hours on the child's first day?
Michael 11:59 AM 08-30-2010
Hi Meli, welcome to the Daycare.com Forum!
misol 12:13 PM 08-30-2010