Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Considering Creative Curriculum...
Leanna 11:08 AM 07-03-2013
Does anyone have a sample lesson plan they are willing to share? I really like the framework of Creative Curriculum but am not making the full connection about how to implement it (wow I sound dumb!). I learn best with examples! Thanks!
SilverSabre25 11:16 AM 07-03-2013
It's not really about "lessons" per se, not as I understand it anyway. Admittedly I'm still a novice. It's a lot more abuot the materials that are available and the way the environment/areas are set up.

so for example, say you've noticed this group of children building a lot of spaceships with Legos and playing spaceman a lot. You could add space people/vehicles and pictures of space things/ships/etc to the block area. An astronaut helmet and jet pack out with the dress up stuff, and maybe a tent/large cardboard box fashioned like a space shuttle. Add books about space and astronauts to the library corner, set up an invitation to paint planets in the art area, or build robots or something. In the meantime, no one is really using the table toys so you put away what's out over there, and add other stuff you have available. since it's summer, you choose to make some table activities that happen to have a summer/beach theme and this sparks some children into playing "beach" in the sand table. You decide to add some more beachy props for them there...and so on.

Does that help? This is how I understand the implementation of the curriculum, anyway.
Heidi 11:22 AM 07-03-2013
I think Silver has the idea.

It's exactly what I've been doing for years. With our state's QRIS, they would prefer I write lesson plans and somehow document ahead of time how, based on the children's assessments, I am going to teach intentionally.