Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Teaching a Spanish
Dreamer21 02:11 AM 09-18-2014
Hi everyone! This is my first time posting on the forum, but I've been lurking around for a while.

I have two kids* that I need to teach Spanish to, but I'm supposed to act like I don't know any German**, one is still an infant (no problem there), but the oldest one is 6 years old and the family told me that he knows I can speak German.

Well, I have not beep a word in German to any of the kids, that was the rule for being hired, but it's also hard to teach the child any new words he needs to repeat the sentence in Spanish. He understand quite a bit, but lacks major verbs and nouns. I'm creating many flashcards and things for him, but to teach a 6 year old boy anything, its a very difficult task, plus I need to mind the infant as well.

Here's how I'm doing it so far.

Child starts talking in German only, and I say in Spanish things like "I don't understand", "repeat it/now in Spanish, please" etc. sometimes he replies in German as well "but I don't know how", or simply "I can't". I wait a bit until the child either seems to be thinking of ways to say it or just gives up and runs away (most common scenarios). When he really looks like he thought how to say it, but still couldn't then I pretend I have an idea of what he's trying to say, so I tell him some new words he can use in the sentence and ask him to try again. Well by doing that it seems he figured out I can also speak German.
The parents weren't really mad (but I'm sure in reality they aren't very happy), but to me that's a problem because that is the reason I was hired. My husband tells me to keep it up that I'm doing it the right way, but I need more opinions or ideas.

I will be making a reward/progress chart that I hope helps, but I still don't know what to do about making him believe I don't understand anything but Spanish and still be able to teach him his missing words.