Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Is This Normal?
Unregistered 05:26 PM 10-10-2012
I am fairly new to daycare and my only experience with children is raising my own son who is a few months shy of 3 years old. I have a few daycare kids all around 2. One boy I watch is about 2.5, just two months younger than my son. I try not to compare as I know that every child is different and develops at a different rate but I'm starting to get concern about the daycare boy. His fine motor skills are seriously lacking. I've been working with him as best I can with no formal education in child development (primarily coloring with crayons, puzzles, easy lacing beads, etc). However, he is not improving and seems to have no interest in anything but racing trains around the train table and running and climbing outside. I know that's probably pretty normal but all of my kids wants to do SOMETHING else at some point during the day and DS loves to do these things in addition to the gross motor skills. Even with the trains, DS builds elaborate wooden train tracks and acts out his favorite Thomas stories but daycare boy just races around in a circle. While coloring I try to get him to hold the crayon tightly and press hard but he holds it very loosely and makes scribbles I would expect a one year old to make. He also shows no preference for his left or right hand and switches back and forth. He's still doing chunky puzzles with some effort while DS does preschool-age floor puzzles by himself.

I'm trying to teach daycare boy how to put his shoes on. A task that all of my kids can do (even the one that is not yet two) and he acts like he can't even hold on to the shoes tightly enough to push his foot in and shows no coordination when trying. I'm really at a loss as to how to help this child progress.