Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>To Hold An Open Spot Or Not?
MonkeyingAround 07:23 PM 01-16-2013
Hello!

I am new to the daycare world and have a question for everyone.

I had someone call me today about daycare (she's a friend of my neighbor). She is due with her first baby in April. She's also a teacher. She is looking at daycare now but won't need care until school starts back in August.

I'd LOVE to watch her baby because the hours she'd need as a teacher are perfect (pretty much the same as the other kids I watch). I do have an open spot now too.

Would you hold a spot for the baby? If so, do you charge a holding fee?

For those who watch teacher's kids...do you charge anything during the summer to hold their spots? Also how do you handle christmas and spring break? I almost feel like teacher's should have their own "clause" in my contract. LOL.

Thanks in advance!!!
Melissa
Nickel 07:44 PM 01-16-2013
I held a spot for someone on more than one occasion and both times that person didn't start and caused me to lose money. Honestly, you don't know what is going to happen from now until August. I would keep her on my mind, but would not necessarily hold the spot. If you find someone that fits well with your program, I would start them, you never know what is going to happen between now and Aug. So don't count on someone that far away.

Also, as far as summers, I personally do not charge a holding fee. I don't have teachers, but I have a lot of college students. I do not charge them for time off between semesters, summer, or spring break. Every other time, they pay the same every week. So they don't get any additional vacation time without pay. The reason is because I WANT summers off. I WANT that time to spend with my children. I would rather be closed, or have less children because I can do more with my own children.