Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
New Members - Welcome to the Daycare.com Forum!>NEWBIE to Board and Business. PLEASE HELP!
Leapoffaith 01:00 PM 05-22-2012
Hello All,

I'm really taking a leap of faith here. I'm a computer programmer that wants to run my own business and primarily work from home. My job causes me to use the maximum of my brain daily. It is VERY draining. At times, I can not think straight, and I'm very unappreciated by my employer.

I love kids and feel that home daycare is a quick and enjoyable way that could help me be my 'own' boss. My problem is that I'm inexperienced with childcare and I am the primary bread earner in my family right now. I'm afraid to take the leap of faith.

I have my registered home permit. I'm searching for home daycare liability insurance. Although, liability insurance is not required in my state, I would like it for precautionary reasons. If someone could please answer a few of my questions, I'd appreciate it, and thank you in advance.

Is it difficult finding kids to care for?
How long does it usually take after advertisement to start getting kids?
Should I be advertising 'now' for kids while I look for liability insurance or wait until I have liability insurance to advertise?
How do I approach or interview parents without any childcare experience?(I have two kids of my own).
Who would you recommend for liability insurance?
Is the pay, decent? (meaning earning at least $45,000 per year)
Did you leave a decent paying job to take a leap of faith by opening up your home daycare? If so, has it been a good or bad experience? Any regrets?

Thank you
Michael 01:06 PM 05-22-2012
Welcome to the Daycare.com Forum! I've upgraded your status. You can post freely now.

Some of the members will chime in. For the time being, here is a tag from those that write how much they appreciate doing daycare: https://www.daycare.com/forum/tags.php?tag=love+daycare