Daycare.com Forum Daycare Forum

Go Back   Daycare.com Forum > Main Category > Daycare Center and Family Home Forum

Daycare Center and Family Home Forum Daycare Center and Family Home owners, Directors, Operators and Assistants should post and ask questions here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-15-2013, 07:54 PM
Julia's Avatar
Julia Julia is offline
Daycare.com Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 10
Default Question About Running An Unlicensed Home Preschool

I live in the state of Kansas, and was thinking about starting my own preschool in my home. However, I don't want to go through all the trouble with licensing, if I don't need to. Here are the Kansas laws, from the Kansas Department of Health and Environment website:

Licensing for home-based day care IS NOT required as follows:
1.When child care is provided for not more than two children unrelated to the provider for 20 hours a week or less and the home has not been closed as a result of enforcement action. Total time is determined by adding the hours each child is cared for weekly.
2. When irregular child care is arranged between friends and neighbors on an exchange bases.
3.When child care is provided in the child's own home.
4.When child care is provided in the home of the child's relative.


My question is, if I teach 2 kids for 12 hours/week (M-W-F), would I still be allowed to teach 2 different kids on T-Th for an additional 8 hours/week?

Thanks,
Julia
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-15-2013, 08:00 PM
blandino's Avatar
blandino blandino is offline
Daycare.com member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tulsa area
Posts: 1,508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Julia View Post
I live in the state of Kansas, and was thinking about starting my own preschool in my home. However, I don't want to go through all the trouble with licensing, if I don't need to. Here are the Kansas laws, from the Kansas Department of Health and Environment website:

Licensing for home-based day care IS NOT required as follows:
1.When child care is provided for not more than two children unrelated to the provider for 20 hours a week or less and the home has not been closed as a result of enforcement action. Total time is determined by adding the hours each child is cared for weekly.
2. When irregular child care is arranged between friends and neighbors on an exchange bases.
3.When child care is provided in the child's own home.
4.When child care is provided in the home of the child's relative.


My question is, if I teach 2 kids for 12 hours/week (M-W-F), would I still be allowed to teach 2 different kids on T-Th for an additional 8 hours/week?

Thanks,
Julia
I am in OK with similar licensing laws. They will count the number of hours you have children in care total - even if they are entirely different groups of children.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2013, 08:05 PM
CedarCreek's Avatar
CedarCreek CedarCreek is offline
Advanced Daycare.com Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,529
Default

I'm not sure, but not to put a damper on things, would you be able to line up clients for a preschool without licensing?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2013, 08:06 PM
Julia's Avatar
Julia Julia is offline
Daycare.com Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 10
Default

In the example I gave above, I would still be at the 20 hours total for the week, so I think I'd be okay with total hours. But am I only allowed to teach 2 children total, or is it okay to have 4 children/week as long as I only teach 2 at a time?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-15-2013, 08:09 PM
Julia's Avatar
Julia Julia is offline
Daycare.com Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CedarCreek View Post
I'm not sure, but not to put a damper on things, would you be able to line up clients for a preschool without licensing?
I'm a retired teacher, but I have had several requests from parents to tutor their children and prepare them for kindergarten.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-15-2013, 08:09 PM
CedarCreek's Avatar
CedarCreek CedarCreek is offline
Advanced Daycare.com Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,529
Default

I think you could only have 2..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-15-2013, 09:06 PM
TheGoodLife's Avatar
TheGoodLife TheGoodLife is offline
Home Daycare Provider
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Midwest
Posts: 1,368
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Julia View Post
In the example I gave above, I would still be at the 20 hours total for the week, so I think I'd be okay with total hours. But am I only allowed to teach 2 children total, or is it okay to have 4 children/week as long as I only teach 2 at a time?
Contact your states licensing department- I know here in NE I can have up to 3 ata a time- I have more than 3 children enrolled PT, but only care for 3 at one time. Good luck, that is what I dream of doing in the future- a home preschool
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-15-2013, 09:14 PM
JoseyJo's Avatar
JoseyJo JoseyJo is offline
Group DCP in Kansas
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Kansas
Posts: 941
Default

We're in Ks too-

Having a licensed preschool in KS is different than having a family home daycare license (the regulation you posted was for family home daycare). When we started we wanted to run a full day preschool out of our home (converted part of our home into a center type environment). However per KS statute a preschool is defined as:

a facility which provides learning experiences for children who have not attained the age of eligibility to enter kindergarten prescribed in K.S.A. 72-1107(c) and any amendments thereto,and who are 30 months of age or older; which conducts sessions not exceeding three hours per session; which does not enroll any child more than one session per day; and which does not serve a meal.

Not sure if any of these would affect what you are planning to do but: You cannot have a full day preschool by law. You also cannot care for any children younger than 30 months, or over school aged. The statute also says facility- so that may mean you cannot have it in your home, but if the rest doesn't cause you problems you would need to check with licensing on that part to make sure. You also cannot advertise yourself as a "preschool" unless you are licensed as a preschool. (You can advertise that you offer a preschool curriculum, you just can't say you are a preschool.) We ended up getting licensed as a group daycare (2 providers) and offer a preschool curriculum and all day care.

But either way you must be licensed if:

You care for more than 2 TOTAL unrelated child for more than a TOTAL of 20 hours a week. The hours are cumulative- so if you watch 2 children a week you would be allowed 10 hours each. You could watch 1 child MWF for 12 hours week and i child T/TH for 8 hours a week and not be licensed.



That being said, getting licensed really isn't that hard. Go through an orientation, fill out the paperwork, take the safety classes, have the inspections done, pay the fees (pretty minimal) and your good to go!

Last edited by JoseyJo; 05-15-2013 at 09:28 PM. Reason: correction
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-16-2013, 07:17 AM
craftymissbeth's Avatar
craftymissbeth craftymissbeth is offline
Legally Unlicensed
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Midwest
Posts: 2,367
Default

I'm also in Kansas and I agree with everything Josey said... I'm in the process of getting licensed and will have my inspection on Monday. It really is pretty easy. Here's a link to the Preschool/Childcare Centers/Head Start Information.

I didn't read through all of it, but it looks like for Centers, Preschools, and Head Starts there must be a Program Director and it can't be in a home. Here are the Instructions for Completing the Preschool Application.

You're probably better off just getting licensed as a home daycare IMO. Here you can find all the information for Licensed and Group Daycare Forms.

Good luck!

ETA: With those 2 children you're already at 24 hours a week
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Daycare is Charging Me for Hours He's in Preschool? nikkimcc Parents and Guardians Forum 23 03-31-2021 11:42 AM
Question for Home Care Providers, Feeling Lonely mrs.meg Daycare Center and Family Home Forum 14 08-09-2011 12:08 PM
Another preschool question MsJoy Daycare Center and Family Home Forum 5 11-24-2010 04:32 PM
For Home Providers that do Preschool mac60 Daycare Center and Family Home Forum 3 07-09-2009 05:19 AM
Question About Home Day Care In Indiana hoosiergal Daycare Center and Family Home Forum 1 12-05-2008 08:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:56 AM.



Daycare.com         Find A Daycare         List Your Daycare         Toys & Products                 About Us

Daycare.com
Please read our Disclaimer before continuing.

Topics pertain mainly to the following States:

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware District of Columbia Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming