Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>What To Do With An 11 Month Old BAD Baby???
Megan 11:13 AM 10-18-2012
Hi! I'm new here. I have been doing home daycare for a little over 10 years now.
I currently have a DC baby who is going to be 1 yr. old next month. I've had him since the beginning of August 2012. He is a full time child, meaning he's with me about 9 hrs, 5 days a week... pretty much every single week. He has proven to be such a challenging child so far, and I just don't know what else to do! I feel like I've given ample adjustment time. I even talked with the mother a month ago letting her know my concerns with him not soothing himself, not napping on his own, and etc. She acted as if she was on board and claims to be "trying" to help with this at home.... but, I really do not see any improvement a month after the "intervention". lol
He is a breastfed baby... WILL NOT take a bottle, cup, pacifier, or ANYTHING. This is very frustrating. Just getting liquids down him is a fight. He will eat solid foods, but will not drink anything. He will only nap, most days, for 20-30 minutes... then SCREAMS the rest of the nap period. My other 4 two year olds nap at least 2 hours! I've had to turn up the lullaby music and add a fan just to drown out the baby's screaming- the baby is upstairs in a room w/the door shut, and the others are downstairs in a room with the door shut. I'm so frustrated. He should be napping way more than 30 minutes ONCE A DAY!!! I don't know what to do! I don't rock him, never have. I am not sure if they still are at home or not, or nursing him to sleep... I had asked them to work with him on that.
What should I do about this child!?!?! Terminate, give more time, just put up with the constant screaming and deal with it, or WHAT???????!!!!!! I just don't want to look like a "you know what" to the parents, or make them mad.
Michael 11:23 AM 10-18-2012