Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Vacation Days
TheGoodLife 09:12 PM 06-13-2013
My contract says I can take up to 10 personal/sick days a year. (Last year I would just take a random day here and there- never a full week.) Should I specify anything about prorating it for my PT families, is that usual? All of my families are now M-Th, so I never need to take a Friday off. Should I only do 8 days, to be fair? Also, do any of you prorate days for families that start mid year? I haven't had any PTO so far this year and all new families as of May. Is it unfair for me to still take my full PTO (I'm not planning on taking 10 days off, just more curious than anything)?
I've been caring for a drop-in family every day for the past 2 months, and I took off tomorrow to see my DD's little dance recital and I can't believe how HAPPY I am to have a day off. I think I need to plan a PTO day next month, just for the heck of it, on a day with nothing to do but relax!
Leigh 06:09 AM 06-14-2013
I don't specify a number of days. My contract states that ALL of my days off will be paid, and the number will be at my discretion. I RARELY take a day off, but I am not going to lock myself in to a certain number. I suppose I would, if I felt that my time off were excessive, offer the parents a break, but I don't limit myself to a certain number of days (not even for holidays-I give parents a list of days I will DEFINITELY close, and tell them that I may add to it later).

I think daycare providers often fall into a trap of feeling guilty for taking time off. We need it MORE than the parents do, in my opinion! Maybe it's because past employers were strict about time off, but I started in this job to make my OWN rules, and that's what I do.