Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>I Wish Parents Could Walk A Mile In Our Shoes
Zoe 09:27 AM 03-03-2011
Thinking back to when my own children were in daycare while I was teaching, I remember being confused/frustrated with certain policies of my daycare lady's. I didn't want to take off work when my daughter had a slight fever. I will admit, and this is awful, that I gave her tylenol one day. I also didn't want to have to pay for days that I missed. What's more, my daughter was a picky eater and I didn't understand why my provider couldn't just give "regular meals" that she was used to.

Do I sound like some of the "terror" parents we all talk about? Of course, I always paid on time and never brought up any of my thoughts to my childcare provider, it was more of a complaint that I kept to myself.

Now that I've been doing daycare for 3 years, I realize why these policies are in effect. I was thinking of myself and not about my provider and how she needs to keep her business running smoothly and what's best for the group as a whole. It's funny how being on the other side changes a person!

And the funniest thing about this, is that the minute I decided to do childcare, it wasn't as if I was saying to myself, "I'm going to do things different". Nope! I pretty much had a policy exactly like my old daycare lady's! I serve a variety of healthy meals, and it has nothing to do with my daughter's taste. Heaven help the parent who knowingly brings their sick child to my care! My rates are weekly with NO discount for absent or missed days.

Now if only we could get the parents of the children in our care to walk a mile in our shoes, as I have. Maybe then we wouldn't be having so many problems!

Hey, I can dream can't I?
AfterSchoolMom 09:30 AM 03-03-2011