Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Much Needed Advice
mommaprovider 01:42 PM 01-13-2016
Hello! I am newly registered to the site, but I have been reading posts during nap time non stop for the last week. I am also new to the day care concept. I have been a stay at home mom for most of my son's life and have taken on one DCK full time as of four months ago.

He is a loving boy of 3 years, listens fairly well (I usually do have to ask him twice), does not have violent tendencies, is mostly soft spoken, follows our schedule well, always goes down for naps easily, and he comes from a very sweet and responsible family.

I suppose that the issue I am having is that I am not entirely aware of what is "normal/acceptable" behavior for a three year old. What should I accept, what should I change, what should I ignore? That being said, DCK is pinching a nerve.

The first two weeks I cared for him he was a dream. Independent, but good at working in groups. He followed instructions well, was gentle with toys, willingly included my son in activities, and was a pro at using the toilet on his own, while standing up.

The time since then has been interesting.

He stopped using the toilet (this has now been rectified). He insisted I go in with him every time he needed to go, refused to pee standing up and instead wanted to sit on the potty training seat. If I asked him to please use the toilet like a "big boy" (because I was changing a diaper, keeping a meal from burning, picking up the pieces of a broken toy) he would purposely urinate on his clothes (I caught him doing this SO MANY times).