Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Can Anyone Relate to This?
mncare 09:17 AM 08-09-2010
Or am I just awful?

I LOVE my kids, every one of them. Individually. But I do not necessarily like my job. I could go into lots of detail obviously but don't have time. I have a momentary lull while I am prepping lunch.

Am I the only one???
mncare 09:22 AM 08-09-2010
I just wanted to add that I am not looking for judgement. I am looking for some advice to help me enjoy this more. This is my first year and I am struggling to enjoy it. Thanks.
momma2girls 09:24 AM 08-09-2010
Originally Posted by mncare:
Or am I just awful?

I LOVE my kids, every one of them. Individually. But I do not necessarily like my job. I could go into lots of detail obviously but don't have time. I have a momentary lull while I am prepping lunch.

Am I the only one???
there are definately days, I think every single one of us- thinks this!! Some parents do not have any respect for daycare providers, some children do not have respect, etc.. as well- I have been doing this for over 6 yrs. now, and there are many, many days I feel this way- is it worth it, etc? I do have one more child at home yet, so it is really nice to be able to stay at home with her.
Lilbutterflie 09:47 AM 08-09-2010
Yes, I sometimes wonder why I chose to do this. Here are a few things that keep me going:
1. My kids get something I NEVER got with my parents: they get to stay home with me!
2. I love to see the "Aha!" moments with kids. When they learn to ride their tricycle for the first time, when they finally start to color in the lines, when they have learned to identify the letters in the alphabet. Even if it's not my own child, those moments are precious to me.