Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Need Advice
lteach98 03:20 PM 08-29-2013
hello all im new to this form. I have been working as a head teacher in a daycare facility for about a few months. Recently a child was seriously injured where their finger was broken after being smashed in the door. I feel absolutely terrible about it and it was truly an accident as I was taking 4 children to the bathroom. I didn't realize the childs finger was in the way. Fortunately the director and staff have been very supportive but the parent has not been. When I tried to explain everything, the parent proceeded to curse me out and threaten me. I understand them being upset which they have every right but I do not even now feel comfortable with this parent in the room. I even made an attempt to express my apology and they refused at this point I feel I tried. I feel the hurt just as much as the parent. so im asking has anyone experienced a child getting hurt on your watch as a teacher, how do you handle it?
Maria2013 03:48 PM 08-29-2013
I feel very bad for you

I've never had any serious injury happening to kids in my care, I tent to be over protective but, the fact is accidents do happen!

...as a parent, I would probably feel equally sorry for my child and for the teacher in charge at the time, because I know how I'd feel if a child in my care was injured

you know in your heart it was an accident, you tried to apologize...now all you can do is move forward
MissAnn 04:55 PM 08-29-2013
A boy pushed another one outside and he ended up with 5 stitches near his eye. I felt horrible! I cried and cried but the parents were wonderful. Accidents happen. Those parents owe you an apology. I understand they were upset...but once they calmed down they should have tried to understand your position.
preschoolteacher 05:30 PM 08-29-2013