Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Securing Train Tracks?
MG&Lsmom 12:30 PM 08-18-2011
Has anyone successfully secured wooden train tracks and bridges to a surface? Barnes and Noble has their set all screwed & glued together so we go play there a lot. I would love to secure our set or even just the raised pieces in chunks to help alleviate the frustration of the whole thing falling apart at the slightest touch. But I'm afraid of ruining it.
Crystal 12:35 PM 08-18-2011
I used Gorilla Glue on mine when I had one. Use very sparingly though or it will ooze out from underneath....the glue expands when drying.
MG&Lsmom 01:51 PM 08-18-2011
Originally Posted by Crystal:
I used Gorilla Glue on mine when I had one. Use very sparingly though or it will ooze out from underneath....the glue expands when drying.
I've had some experience with overuse of Gorilla Glue

Right now the track is taped to the dining room floor and everyone had a blast all afternoon with it. Unfortunately it can not stay there as it's the walk through to the whole house.
Kaddidle Care 01:55 PM 08-18-2011
How about Fun Tack? I'd hate to see you glue it - as the kids get older part of the fun is creating new tracks to play with.

My husband hot glued a little HO track to a board. It's in an oval and was meant to go round the Christmas Tree. Unfortunately there always seems to be something preventing us from using it. Young child, puppy, kitten.. hehe!
MG&Lsmom 10:03 AM 08-19-2011
DH is brilliant. Masking taped the track to the train table surface. Not so sticky that we can't change it easily and not so wobbly to come tumbling down. I had to pry the kids away so we could go on our field trip to the zoo this morning. Where they were going to ride a REAL train.
E Daycare 11:08 AM 08-19-2011