Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Can Someone Please Explain This To Me
Sdcp16 04:32 PM 08-07-2011
I have been doing daycare for over 12 years, have my own two daughters ages 12 and 15. I have a finished basement that I use for daycare. All day long, I have to remind the daycare kids "No running". "No jumping on the couch". "No yelling inside". Oh yeah...no running, no running, no running! Then we go outside to a fully fenced in yard with couple cars, a see saw, a big climber, a small climber,a little Tykes house, squirt guns, cars, trucks, a little kids pool with slide and all they do is stand in front of me! I always have one or two babies out there with us and they are usually in exersaucers. The kids all stand around the exersaucers fighting over the toys on them!! Why don't they play outside??????
AnneCordelia 05:16 PM 08-07-2011
LOL! I know what you mean! I tell them, "Go play!" and they usually do.
CheekyChick 07:14 PM 08-07-2011
LOL!!! The same thing happens here!!! They are FULL of energy, bouncing off the walls and when we go outside, they want to sit in the shade (it's not even that hot here) or sit on our laps. Go figure.
cheerfuldom 07:51 PM 08-07-2011
yup. I shoo the kids away from me and the babies and just keep shoo'ing till the go play. Rowdy kids in the house get the chill out chair.
Squirrel 04:40 AM 08-08-2011
Happens here too. Some days I wish I could have the sandbox inside and all the bookcases and room dividers outside since they love to run around inside and sit down quietly in the sandbox outside.
daycarelady68 04:51 AM 08-08-2011
Same thing here. I don't understand it either. Inside "no running" outside "go play"....I will get them involved in a game, they have to act like a specific animal and run the length of the yard (fenced) as the animal. At least it uses up their energy. I just continually remind them to run, play & be loud while we are outside.
MommyMuffin 04:57 AM 08-08-2011