Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Let's Be Best Friends
Lyss 05:12 PM 05-19-2012
I'm new to home care, I've been open less than a year, and would like some advice. I recently accepted a new DCK, a child basically the same age as my own child, and the DCP are very nice. They recently relocated to our area and don't know many people, so the mother has been dropping many comments about how we're all going to become "great best friends."

I'm a little concerned about becoming "best friends" with a DCP. This is my business and I'm afraid becoming friends (she's talking bbq's, family movie nights, weekend coffee get togethers....) will make it harder if issues arise (of which there are a few already I'm addressing with her) in the future and also, not to sound rude, I want my weekend free of DCK!

Yes I think it would be great for our children to get to be best friends but I'm hesitant about a relationship outside of providing care.

What would you do?
Springdaze 05:49 PM 05-19-2012
I have to agree with you. unfortunately most times it doesnt work. its hard to tell a friend when they need to be reminded of a policy or something like that. I have some g friends that are former clients, and maybe one that I would have been friends with, but not besties. these were also fortunately parents that I never had problems with.
Mydaycare 08:57 PM 05-19-2012
Totally agree with you!!! You don't want to deal with dck on weekends!!!
Meyou 02:53 AM 05-20-2012
I've become very good friends with DCF's after their child had moved on to school. But I try to stay professional while we're still in a working relationship. I have two very good friends that I met providing childcare for their children.
DaisyMamma 05:58 PM 05-20-2012