Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Parents and Guardians Forum>Question About Daycare Providers Days Off
Unregistered 04:49 PM 04-12-2011
My wife and one of her friends both had babies a month apart. My wife went back to work two weeks ago and our friend decided to stay home and start a daycare service. Since we knew her we decided to go with her. We normaly only need someone to watch her 3-6 hours a day 2-4 days a week. She is charging $20 for days less then 5 hours and $30 for anything over 5 hours. I was just wondering what is to be expected for days of that she takes. We did not make a contrat due to she's a friend. She gets every weekend off. She's only been watching her for two weeks now and just told us her husband has her birthday off in three weeks so she is gonna take it off too. We have no back up and I am hoping this does not happen often. What is expected for days off? Sorry I am new to this
KEG123 04:59 PM 04-12-2011
I'd expect her to take of all major holidays (but obviously she may or may not- it's something you need to discuss with her), and somewhere between 2-3 weeks of vacation time per year. Some providers use a day here and a day there to add up to their vacation time, but 2 weeks notice is a must! Some providers take all 2-3 weeks at once. Again, it's something you need to speak with her about. And 3 weeks is ample time to let you know to find backup care. What if she was sick? Would you expect her to watch your child then, or do you have a backup? Really, a backup is a must!
Unregistered 05:08 PM 04-12-2011