Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>CPR Renewal
Oneluckymom 01:33 PM 04-04-2013
does anyone have any info on CPR renewal in California?

This is my first time renewing. Do I have to go in and take the class again?
KBCsMommy 01:37 PM 04-04-2013
Yes you have to take it again. And you cannot do it online.

I had to renew mine last fall, I took it again with the same person I did 2 years ago.
Oneluckymom 01:50 PM 04-04-2013
Does it HAVE to be through the American red cross? or can I have someone certified to teach it give me the license?
MarinaVanessa 01:52 PM 04-04-2013
You don't have to take the whole class again. The preventative health & safety class certificate never expires ... you only have to take the adult, child and infant CPR as well as the child care first aid portion of it.

Depending on where you take it I'd call them directly and tell them on the phone that you are a licensed family child care provider and need to re-certify so that they sign you up for the right class.

Originally Posted by Oneluckymom:
Does it HAVE to be through the American red cross? or can I have someone certified to teach it give me the license?
The American Heart Association also has classes that are already approved through licensing that are catered directly to family child care so you try them also. Anywhere else that re-certifies has to meet the criteria that licensing requires and has to be approved by them. If you want to take a class from someone other than ARC or AHA then I'd call the place to verify that they give you a class on Adult, Infant AND child CPR as well as child care first aid THEN call licensing to verify that it'll be accepted.

The person that teaches you MUST be able to give you an official re-certification certificate.
Oneluckymom 02:04 PM 04-04-2013
Thanks !!
KBCsMommy 02:09 PM 04-04-2013
What Marina Vanessa said!!

If you don't go through Red Cross, make sure they are EMSA current.
Oneluckymom 02:12 PM 04-04-2013