Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Early Achievers (WA State)
ButterflyMama 07:30 PM 04-24-2018
I'm not sure how many posts there are for this. I saw one from 2013 with links to others but they're all old and the ones I looked at didnt help.

I'm new to my position and taking on Early Achievers and my supervisor isnt the easiest to talk with. I've asked my coaches today for some guidance but didnt really get it all. I used to work for the company the coaches are at, so I know the Directors of their childcare program. They didnt give me ideas, and when I asked what their centers do, they looked blankly at me (like I was asking to cheat on a test) and then said I could ask the Directors myself. Hrmph. I know two of the sites are behind/catching up, and I asked another but didnt get much help either. I dont want to come across as the biggest dingbat to them, either. I just feel like I have to create something out of nothing.

Apparently I have to come up with an assessment tool or something. So, we have the Curricular Alignment Tool. There's a similar one from WaKids we're not using--I think. Many people use TS Gold for this but my boss doesnt want to use this and the coaches agree. So it means I have to create my own. I dont know what TS Gold does--I registered but it didnt have anything on there but to take a test if my assessment ratings match with others.

I'm confused because the Curricular Alignment Tool is an assessment in itself. So I now have to do something else?
I havent a clue what. The childcare Director I asked does portfolios (I havent seen them, so I can only guess-she says she cannot show me due to copyrights) so I'm thinking I'll copy the Portfolio idea. I'm thinking of having a big box with hanging files for each child and in them put the artwork or a picture of them doing something that demonstrates the goal/activity. Not sure if that's what she's doing or not.