Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
New Members - Welcome to the Daycare.com Forum!>Introducing Myself
drseuss 04:33 PM 03-05-2014
Hello fellow childcare providers and parents! I came here because I was looking for a group of other child care providers to bounce thoughts, ideas and feelings around with.

I am a state-licensed family child care program. I have been doing child care formally since 1997, save for a four-year hiatus when my family and I tried making a go of a small retail business. I studied elementary education in college, where I found that my passion was in early childhood, and where I also discovered that there was no way I could handle the politics that comes with being a school teacher. The big discovery that I made there, through observations of every manner of different early childhood environment, was that this world needs HIGH quality child care. I knew that I wanted to be home with my children, so my natural choice was to open a child care program in my home. We were fortunate to be able to build our home around having a daycare. It's been a joyous, wild, exhilarating and exhausting ride!

I look forward to getting to know you all a bit.
Heidi 04:37 PM 03-05-2014
Welcome!

I am a family childcare provider in WI. I have 4 children myself (24,21,16,13) and was an FCC from 1992-2002 and from Feb 2011-now. I've been encouraged by former dcp's to consider teaching in the public schools, but said "NO WAY!" for exactly the reasons you discovered.
Blackcat31 04:50 PM 03-05-2014
Welcome to the forum!

I am an accidental child care provider. Never meant to ever work in this field.

Funny how life takes you places other than where you were headed...

Anyways, for various reasons I am still here providing care ....loooooong after my own two have grown and gone.

I still plan on being here for a bit longer.

......unless I win the lottery. .... Well, until we win the one with 6 or more zeros.
drseuss 05:28 PM 03-05-2014