Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Why Did You Start In The Daycare Business And What Do You Love?
lpperry 12:08 PM 06-04-2011
I am new here and am enjoying "getting to know" everyone on the board. I have an in-home daycare. I have a just-turned-2 year old and a 7 month old.

Why did you start in the daycare business and what do you love about it?

I am a speech-language pathologist and I used to work in a school district prior to the birth of my first child. I loved my job, but I really wanted to stay home with my son. Financially, I either had to work part-time or start a daycare. I choose to start a daycare and have been so happy with my decision. I love nearly everything about what I do.

I love not having to leave my house to go to work. I love being able to let my kids sleep without having to wake them up to rush them to daycare so I can be to work on time. I love that I am with them all day and get to be the one doing all of the teaching and seeing all of the milestones.

I love to see my children interacting with the daycare children--the 2 year old really loves all of his friends. I love that running the daycare forces me into a routine during the week. My kids do so great on a routine. I think they have much more fun and are so more stimulated than they would be if I was a stay-at-home mom with no daycare kids.

I love planning language activities and educational activities, especially as my group is getting older. It's fun to have a few kids to do these things with, rather than just my own.

I love that since the daycare is my job from 8-5:15, I don't feel like I have to be getting all of the household chores done. I don't have to clean and do laundry--my focus can just be on the kids. If I was just home with my own kids, I know more of my time would be spent doing chores.