Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
New Members - Welcome to the Daycare.com Forum!>Hi! Is This Unreasonable?
DaycareMom 10:11 AM 11-15-2011
Hello All,

This is my first post!
I have been doing daycare out of my home for about 2 1/2 years. Some days I love it and other days I hate it ... lol! I have been searching through the forum for awhile now and so glad i found it!

Now for my question ....

I care for twin boys 5 days/week for $60/day = $300/Week. Their family is moving and asked if I could watch the twins while they are moving on Saturday. She said, "Hey how would you like to make an extra $60 on saturday?" I told her I would do it for $75 extra. I thought that was a pretty good deal since I it is a weekend and her children are already here for 50 hours/week. She was really upset and she declined.

Was it so unreasonable for me to ask for a little extra?
daycare 10:16 AM 11-15-2011
Nope, I don't think it was unreasonable. You set your price, they didn't like it so they declined. No big deal.

I would charge more for weekends. I think that because you threw the offer out there first, she figured that you had nothing going on, so offering less would be no big deal.
kendallina 10:55 AM 11-15-2011
I agree with daycare...I'd charge more for weekends as well.
DaycareMama 11:03 AM 11-15-2011
I would have charged extra also
Michael 01:17 PM 11-15-2011
Originally Posted by MissChristie:
Hello All,

This is my first post!
I have been doing daycare out of my home for about 2 1/2 years. Some days I love it and other days I hate it ... lol! I have been searching through the forum for awhile now and so glad i found it!
Welcome to the Daycare.com Forum! I've upgraded your status. You can post freely now.
nannyde 04:32 AM 11-16-2011
It's okay for her to be upset. She wanted you to say yes and you said yes but it's going to be at my price. Your price was more than she wanted to pay.