Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Providing Care In The Parent's Home???
Logged out 11:41 AM 09-29-2012
I am logged out for privacy, but I am just starting out providing childcare. Right now I only have one 4 yr old (I had her at my previous daycare I worked at, before it shut down. Her parents wanted her to stay with me, so they are paying me extra for picking her up in the next town over (25 min away), and dropping her off in the evening in my town (I live just outside town, so I meet her parents in town so they can pick her up in evenings). Well, last week the mom e-mailed, asking if I could start going to their house to watch her, until I get other children enrolled. I am already going to their town to pick her up each morning, but they live about 10-15 min even further into town than I've been going to pick her up. I LIKE watching her here at my own home. I have her a preschool area set up, an oudoor play area set up, etc. we go to the park, library, McDonald's playplace, etc and their town does not have all this available. And we have finally gotten into a smooth routine that seems to be working well for us (the 4 yr old is all about routine and gets really upset if her routine is changed). Plus I'm just much more comfortable watching a child in my own home all day long than I would be at someone else's house. I e-mailed back, saying I'd much rather just keep watching her here. I never got an e-mail back, so I've been just picking her up as usual and dropping her off as usual. But things feel awkward between me and her mom now. We always got along great, and we still do, but it just feels kind of awkward. She had been giving me her schedule for a month at a time, and now she only does it week by week. I don't know if they are unhappy with the care she gets at my house or what. But do you think I should have been a little more accommodating and went along with it since I do have to go to their town anyway to pick her