Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Changing Things, Need Ideas Pls...
SimpleMom 07:02 AM 03-09-2011
I have always sought out to make my home daycare like a center/preschool. I have been doing this with success for almost 6 yrs. As has been great, I am finding I want to change things. Everyone has been takkng thier little ones to preschool outside of what I offer (which is fine), so I don't think I need to be so preschool oriented anyways. I am thinking of keeping it more low key. My mom was saying that the parents don't pay for the preschool anyway and that makes sense to not worry about it.
So for those of you who don't do a structured preschool program, how do your days go and what types of activities do you do to keep the day moving and such and the kids entertained?
daycare 08:43 AM 03-09-2011
I was offering the same thing. I only have one that I am getting ready for school, so I do make sure that I teach up to this child.
Lately, I feel that the parents couldnt care less about the program I teach and often do not participate in anything that I ask of them.

I recently started doing more make belive play and not so much stuff that requires me to always lead. Like the crafts and writing and spelling, math, counting, list can go on forever.

I see the kids are learning in a much different way and seem to be enjoying it. It is also less stress on me. Not having to follow a book to the "T" (or should I say curriculum book)

This week we have spent the time inventing all of our toys. No store purchased items. We made toy robots from boxes, boats, a house, castle, and so on.

we also made out own clay, glue, paint, and today we are making paper....

I have not had to buy anything to make these things, as they are all thingsI already had in my kitchen closet.

Next week we will be using rice and beans in our play table and will find a lesson it in somehow. Just need to think what we will be doing...lol