Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare and Taxes>New In Home DC Tax Questions...
voymom 12:17 PM 08-24-2013
Hello everyone! I am new to all of this child care stuff so I need LOTS of help, especially when it comes to taxes, since numbers are not my strong point lol.

I am license exempt for up to 5 children. I currently watch 2 children, with the ability to bring in one more full time child.

How do I figure out if I need to pay in taxes? I'm looking at between $3000-$5000 in income per year. I have been looking at the IRS website, but everything is just confusing me even more.

I read this on the IRS website:

Who Must Pay Estimated Tax
If you are filing as a sole proprietor, partner, S corporation shareholder, and/or a self-employed individual, you generally have to make estimated tax payments if you expect to owe tax of $1,000 or more when you file your return.

How do I know if I am expected to pay $1,000 or more in taxes?

I have read the PDF file that is supposed to help you figure that out, but again, it only confuses me more.

My husband and I filed jointly last year, he claims 7 on his federal taxes since I am a stay at home mom with no income, so we needed the extra money on his paychecks. Not sure if that matters here or not lol.

I have read through most of the threads on taxes for the forum, but I suck with numbers. I need some massive help.

I just recently( a month ago ) started watching the 2 children in my home, with hopes of adding more children in the future. The parents do not plan on using the child care expenses on their taxes.

I am using this link from the IRS to try and figure it out: http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f1040es.pdf

I am using Schedule Y-1 for married filing jointly

It says that if I am not making $17,850, then I do not owe any taxes in? Is this correct?

On schedule Y-2 married filing separately the amount you cannot go over is $ 8,925, if I am not making more than that, do I not have to pay taxes in?