Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Icy Walkway
jenboo 06:45 AM 12-21-2016
You all know I'm a winter newb. I need more help please.

We have been having rain/frozen mix the past few days...just enough for the ground to get wet and then to freeze again. How do i keep my walkway from getting icy? Parents were almost slipping yesterday. It's unusual for our city to stay so cold so long. We have had snow on the ground for over a week...it usual melts by the next day.
All the nearby stores are out of ice melt. I was going to call around today and see if any others have some.
Any suggestions on how to keep my walkway safe?
DaveA 06:55 AM 12-21-2016
Put down some sand to provide traction. As for ice melt- when you buy it buy enough for multiple heavy uses. That way you're not buying it at the same time everyone else is.
Blackcat31 07:09 AM 12-21-2016
Sand and cat litter work well too!

I also make a point of letting parents know that I will maintain my walk way to the best of my ability prior to opening, but should the weather create an issue during the day I can't guarantee that I will be able to get the sidewalk cleared (my hubby usually takes care of it) that I expect parents to use caution and I expect them to have "proper" shoes for the conditions as well.

In other words, if you're wearing dress shoes and are slipping and sliding, do not, I repeat do NOT mention the icy sidewalk.
jenboo 07:14 AM 12-21-2016
Originally Posted by Blackcat31:

I also make a point of letting parents know that I will maintain my walk way to the best of my ability prior to opening, but should the weather create an issue during the day I can't guarantee that I will be able to get the sidewalk cleared (my hubby usually takes care of it) that I expect parents to use caution and I expect them to have "proper" shoes for the conditions as well.