Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Home Care vs Center
DuckGirlJoey 06:12 PM 08-04-2012
When parents ask you what the pros are in comparison to a licensed daycare center, (Kindercare, Goddard School, etc.) what do you tell them? I'm still new at this, and after having worked with in a center setting, my home simply cannot offer what the big places can. Can you help me be creative with this?
thatdivalady 06:18 PM 08-04-2012
The most important thing is the ratio of staff to children. The major complaint I have heard from interviews and current parents is that there are just too many children in centers and it contributes to over stimulation of the children there. Not enough of an ability of staff to give more individual attention. That's the biggest benefit.
DaisyMamma 06:26 PM 08-04-2012
I believe that the best place for young children is home with a parent. If that is not possible I offer the next best thing, a loving home environment. My day is flexible. I do not follow a rigid schedule like the centers do. I go with the mood of the kids. I can take them to the library, park, zoo, etc.
I find that I don't feel I need to compare myself with a center. It's a completely different environment. I don't like centers.
DuckGirlJoey 06:46 PM 08-04-2012
Originally Posted by DaisyMamma:
I find that I don't feel I need to compare myself with a center. It's a completely different environment. I don't like centers.