Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Drop Offs
Core12 04:52 AM 08-20-2018
How far into your house do your parents walk? Mine sometimes walk right through me in order to look around! Like it’s their right!

I’m relatively new at this and am having issues with parents dropping off their kids and walking through my house. Two of my families enter through the living room (open floor plan) and walk straight into the dining room. They do this so they can try to sneak away from their kid without causing an upset...this process requires me to stop everything I’m doing with the others to go and distract their kids(ie I take them into the garage and tell them we are going to feed my pretend horse). The parents look around in my kitchen while pretending to look in their cubbies in the dining room. It makes me nervous bc there is always something u could see “wrong” .
Also, I feel like I’m working too long 7-5:30...it’s just too much! Going to pray for strength to decrease my hours.
I plan to take off 15 paid vacation/holidays next year. God I hope this works! Hopefully, that’s not too much!
Meeko 06:59 AM 08-20-2018
I have signs up outside the front door and inside the foyer. NO SHOES!

Most parents don't want to bother to remove their shoes in order to walk on the carpet. I also make sure at interview, in my handbook that parents are not allowed around the other children at any time. So they can't go past the entryway.

Let them know it's not OK to march in. It's hard to put your foot down at first, but it gets easier. Demand respect in your own home. If you don't...chances are you won't get it. Today's parents have no idea what the word "manners" means.
Snowmom 07:02 AM 08-20-2018
I think a lot of depends on your set up and how you set up the arrivals/departures.