Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Anyone Else Keep Logs on Each Kid?
E Daycare 05:38 AM 01-19-2011
For this new year I decided that with all the issues that come with having other peoples kids in the house I would start keep a journal of each kid. I really wish I started from the go as Id have logs to go back and say see "this happened 3 times etc..." I dont know why I didnt think of this before seeing how I worked in Health care years ago and keeping written logs has saved my rear before. Im just afraid with new contract changes a parent may get on me for the why is this like this and so forth. If I have "proof" to back up my reasoning I might have a shot if I ever need to go to court.

Has anyone done this (or is doing this) and have you had to use the logs/journals to prove your case? If so, have they been effective or have they been a downfall? I know its good to have records for my own behalf. So far this month, the books are pretty heavily filled out. And on just two kids.
Bonnie 07:18 AM 01-19-2011
I am new to DC this year and watch all Teachers Kids. One specifically asked I keep a daily log because pick up time can be chaotic and not enough time to talk about entire day etc...
My log is as follows on a long sided 1/2 sheet of paper pre copied
It looks a little nicer but here it is in basic form.

Name
Date
Diaper count Wet
Dirty
Potty attempts
Breakfast Time
What we ate
Morning Activities
Lunch Time
What we ate
Afternoon Activities
Nap Time
After Nap Activities
Boo Boo's ?
Supplies Needed
Other Issues

I find that if especially one parent drops off and the other parent picks up that they actually read these logs
My4SunshineGirlsNY 08:39 AM 01-19-2011