Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>I Am In Tears! Screaming 1 Year Olds! Advice Please!
cherlea 09:53 AM 06-08-2011
I have been doing daycare for many years. I have 4 grown kids of my own and never had this problem with dcks or my own kids thank god or I would have quit!

The one thing I can not stand is a baby who screams/screeches just for the sake of hearing themselves do it!

I started with an 11 month old baby 9 months ago who is a screamer/screecher for no reason other than just for attention. I thought I was getting him out of it by shhshhiing him with a very stern shhh and a very slight tough to his mouth with one finger.

I recently took on another 11 month old who is also a screamer/screecher 3 months ago so now these 2 are 18 months and 14 months. They scream/screech most of the time they are awake and I can not take it! When one is not screeching the other is and they get each other going.

Like I said I have been doing this for a very long time and it has always been so calm and peaceful here. I have always taken babies at 11 -12 months old only as that is when moms go back to work after maternity leave here. (I am from Ontario Canada) I have never had a screamer ever!

I currently have in my care a 4 year old a 3 year old a 2 year old and these two.

If I can not get them to stop in 2 weeks I am closing! That is how sensitive I am to this. it is the only thing that bothers me! I can change 4 dozen poopy diapers a day clean any mess, do any craft or activity ANYTHING!! Just not the screaming it is high pitched and really hurts/drives me insane!!!

What can I do and how can I tell these two sets of parents? I am sure at home they scream or screech and get exactly what they want or the attention they want. Too bad for these parents though because in two weeks I am done if they do not get out of it.

I love what I do and would like to solve this but it has to get fixed now!