Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Closing Early
erinalexmom 09:50 AM 12-15-2011
I am a nurse and I have a nursing job that I do PRN. Well they called today and offered me a regular postion at 430pm on Fridays. I really want to do it! 1) we need the money! 2) my husband is home at that time and I wont need my own sitter. 3) I miss being a nurse! (I kind of have the eventual goal of getting my debt paid off, closing the daycare, and just working part time as a nurse)
I was thinking about it and all my kids are picked up by 3 on Fridays except 2. One is usually picked up by 430 but grandma works from home so she probably could pick him up by 4pm. The other family, the mom works till 5pm but the dad works till 3pm and works 5 blocks away. He just doesnt want to get the kid cause he coaches 4 sports and is "busy" I hate to turn down an opportunity to make the $ in a job I love due to 1 hour time when the parents could pick up but choose not to. What would ya'll do?
mismatchedsocks 09:53 AM 12-15-2011
talk to the parents of the two families that are later. Let them know that you need to leave the house by 4pm on Fridays. Ask them if there was someone who can get the kids early. Would your husband be available to stay and give them away?
MarinaVanessa 10:05 AM 12-15-2011
Originally Posted by lilrugrats:
Would your husband be available to stay and give them away?
I was thinking this very same thing. If your 2 families have an issue with picking up earlier and if DH is already going to be home then could he not just keep the kids until p/u? It might be worth a shot.

I go to school on Thursdays and I need to be out of here no later than 5:30pm. One family can't get here until 5:45pm and she comes here directly after work so he stays with the kids. On other occasions I may have an appointment or meeting and the parents run late and he stays with them until they get picked up.