Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Teething And Fever
allsmiles 02:21 PM 01-02-2013
okay im new to daycare and only have toddlers right now and my kids are both over 10 years old, so my baby knowledge is kinda dusty LOL I have a prospective parent that is telling me AHEAD of time that her child is teething and could have a fever and be cranky due to that fact, that her current provider didnt seem to want to deal with him because of that. i explained the illness policy and told her that we would do our best to ensure we are only calling her for fear of infection or other emergencies. that are goal is to make sure that we as well as the other children arent at risk.

nowwww.. how do you deal with this?? ive heard even diarrhea is normal during teething? how do you try to discern if it is something the mother should come pick up the child for or just regular teething woes?

we have children that are around her childs age but i havent run into these issues..
blandino 02:30 PM 01-02-2013
It is difficult, and parents don't like to hear it - but there is no way to KNOW that it is only teething when a fever or diarrhea is present. Those signs could easily be brushed off as teething - and could very well be due to a contaigous illness.

One of the best pointers I ever received on this site was from Blackcat, and it was to not emphasize the reasons a child MAY be showing symptoms. We are not doctors, do we have to base exclusion only on the symptoms shown.
MarinaVanessa 02:31 PM 01-02-2013