Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Do You Enforce Nap Time for a 4 Year Old?
NillaWafers 12:45 PM 02-25-2016
I'm new at this obviously, haha. My 5 year old doesn't take naps and I'm fine with him staying up. But my 4yr old dck is now boycotting naps, and I'm not sure what to do with him. He will be going to TK in August so I won't be having him much longer. I do have two three year olds who still need naps and an infant.

Do you just have them lay down for an hour then do quiet activities when they won't nap? Or do you even bother trying. I think CAs nap time laws are only up to 4 anyhow. My major problem is he and my son are best buddies and naturally make a ton of noise if even allowed within sight of each other.
Blackcat31 12:54 PM 02-25-2016
Originally Posted by NillaWafers:
I'm new at this obviously, haha. My 5 year old doesn't take naps and I'm fine with him staying up. But my 4yr old dck is now boycotting naps, and I'm not sure what to do with him. He will be going to TK in August so I won't be having him much longer. I do have two three year olds who still need naps and an infant.

Do you just have them lay down for an hour then do quiet activities when they won't nap? Or do you even bother trying. I think CAs nap time laws are only up to 4 anyhow. My major problem is he and my son are best buddies and naturally make a ton of noise if even allowed within sight of each other.
I can't make them sleep but I DO require a rest period for ALL daycare kids.

If your child (general you) no longer requires an afternoon rest time, they have outgrown my program.

I don't and won't keep kids that don't participate in rest time.

I don't offer "quiet time" activities because for some reason they never remember the "quiet" part.

I also do not do TV, movies or anything electronic. I DO play audio books on the CD player and the kids that don't want to sleep can listen to the stories but other than that, there are no options.