Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Is This A New Trend?
Bookworm 05:01 PM 09-21-2015
There have been a lot of tours in my center for my class (infants) and over half of the parents ask if I'm teaching the DCKs the alphabet, numbers, shapes,colors, etc. A few even told me that they do flash cards with their toddler so they can "learn" them at home. All of them want full on K-5 curriculum just on a toddler level. Many complained that their current/previous provider doesn't do art everyday.

Isn't this a bit much to expect in a toddler room? Why do parents even want all of this? I've been doing daycare for 20 years and I've never experienced this before. After the fourth tour, I started keeping a tally of the children's age and it averaged 16mos.
nanglgrl 06:40 PM 09-21-2015
Sadly yes. To most "quality" education means their 2 year old classroom will be called preschool, they will do worksheets galore and bring home a ton of Pinteresty crafts that they know dang well their child didn't do on their own. They want to brag to their friends about their child's preschool, show off the teachers crafts claimed to be their child's and want their child to perform parlor tricks for friends by singing their A,B,C's.
Bookworm 09:16 PM 09-21-2015
Originally Posted by nanglgrl:
Sadly yes. To most "quality" education means their 2 year old classroom will be called preschool, they will do worksheets galore and bring home a ton of Pinteresty crafts that they know dang well their child didn't do on their own. They want to brag to their friends about their child's preschool, show off the teachers crafts claimed to be their child's and want their child to perform parlor tricks for friends by singing their A,B,C's.
I'm thinking this too. From what I've seen on This forum, flash cards and other similar items don't even work for children this age.
Josiegirl 03:04 AM 09-22-2015