Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>advice needed
Unregistered 08:27 AM 02-18-2014
Hello! I have many years of experience in providing child care, in my own home and in centers. I have been providing care for 1 dcf for a little over a year. I left a position at a center to provide for this family and to be able to be at home with my own preschooler. At the time there were 2 dck and after watching them for a few months, dcm announced she was pregnant. We did not have a contract between us, leaving things casual, as while I was not technically friends with her, I was more than an acquaintance. In the past, I have had contracts with other dcf, with a couple of exceptions when I was just providing care for one family at a time and whether or not I knew them very well. Dcm is a teacher and I have not charged her for any days off... no holidays, school breaks, sick days, snow days, summer break... and not her maternity leave (she took more than 6 weeks.) She is great with pick up times, she wants to be with her kids as much as possible and wishes she was in a position to be a sahm.

Unfortunately, I am in a position where I can no longer do this. I need a regular income and the amount of sick days she takes for 3 dck and the snow days this year has been overwhelming to me financially, especially adding in the maternity leave. The snow days that have been made up, they did not attend, grandparents watched them, as they have older school age kids in a different school district that did not use the same days for make up days. I am trying to figure out the best way to approach her with my issues.