Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Melt Down at Pick Up
Valerie928 03:31 PM 04-24-2019
I just mentioned the other day about doing bye bye outside with a 16 month old I have......well, now my almost 3 yr old dcg has been weird at pick up too. She is pretty good here, been coming over a year. When mom comes she acts out a bit but today mom walked in for pick up, dcg slowly melts to the floor and starts crying crocodile tears. No reason at all, we had a good, normal day. I just stood there, said nothing as I have been doing DC for over 20 years and nothing phases me anymore nor do I have any sympathy for crap like this at pick up. My question is, is this another good candidate for bye bye outside?
Snowmom 06:26 AM 04-25-2019
If it's not a common occurrence for the child, then I would first let her know what to expect at pick up time (tell her what's happening next and what her role is) and see how that works.
If it continues, definitely change the routine.

Personally, I find it easier to get all kids ready to go and play out front on the sidewalk at pick up time. It makes it quick and easy for me. Plus, it cuts down on issues like: kids hanging on doors/hooks, picking my flowers, kicking my landscaping... you know, the things that damage my property and don't seem to be corrected timely.
Blackcat31 06:30 AM 04-25-2019
Originally Posted by Snowmom:
If it's not a common occurrence for the child, then I would first let her know what to expect at pick up time (tell her what's happening next and what her role is) and see how that works.
If it continues, definitely change the routine.

Personally, I find it easier to get all kids ready to go and play out front on the sidewalk at pick up time. It makes it quick and easy for me. Plus, it cuts down on issues like: kids hanging on doors/hooks, picking my flowers, kicking my landscaping... you know, the things that damage my property and don't seem to be corrected timely.