Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Pricing.. payment... policies.. HELP!!!
lflick 05:32 PM 05-16-2013
Good evening! I was hoping to pick some brains per say...

I am new to the in home daycare of my own; however, not new to childcare. I am wondering what you folks charge.... how you charge... if you just do a flat rate per day... or if you offer things like half day, summer rates, before/after school care, and weekend.

I am also wondering how you "enforce" a payment policy. I have a handbook made up and I just started watching 2 girls temporarily (like probably 2 weeks)... In my handbook I listed payment is due on the first day of care for that week. Well I have watched them two days now and have yet to be paid. How does one approach this issue without sounding like it's all about the money?
Cradle2crayons 05:38 PM 05-16-2013
Originally Posted by lflick:
Good evening! I was hoping to pick some brains per say...

I am new to the in home daycare of my own; however, not new to childcare. I am wondering what you folks charge.... how you charge... if you just do a flat rate per day... or if you offer things like half day, summer rates, before/after school care, and weekend.

I am also wondering how you "enforce" a payment policy. I have a handbook made up and I just started watching 2 girls temporarily (like probably 2 weeks)... In my handbook I listed payment is due on the first day of care for that week. Well I have watched them two days now and have yet to be paid. How does one approach this issue without sounding like it's all about the money?
First thing you did wrong was by accepting the girls into your home without payment. If payment is due on the first day, you open the door and expect payment. If you don't already have a late fee agreement, make one. Very few parents are going to do right if you continue to let them walk over you.

That's just it. Childcare is a business. IT IS ABOUT THE MONEY. End of story.