Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Daycare Worker Respect From Kids
daisymae31 01:08 PM 01-22-2013
I work at a daycare center. I've been a preschool teacher there since August. My boss, the owner of the daycare, continues to tell me that my classroom management is lacking and that I don't make a connection with the parents as they drop off their kids. I don't know what else to do. I feel like I am busting my hump at trying to get the kids to behave during circle time, and I am not a type A personality, so just meeting and greeting the parents each day is an effort for me. Frankly, I'm tired of always being told that it's never enough what I do. I feel I am saying hello, asking them how their weekend went, talking about the weather...I don't know what else I am supposed to say to parents as they drop off their kids. I also think it is rather difficult, that I am supposed to have some kids and helping them learn things at one table, while I am supposed to be monitoring kids who are having breakfast at the table behind me (and they constantly get up and down and wander around the room, and I have to direct them back to finish eating their breakfast), while I am also supposed to keep kids on the carpeted area playing whatever center I pulled out (Barbies, lego's, etc). So it's like I have 3 things going on, PLUS, I am supposed to talk to the parents. I feel I do an ok job, but my boss keeps telling me that my warm and fuzzy with the parents isn't enough, that I don't make a connection, and that my classroom management is something I still need to work on. I've been a preschool teacher since last August. I don't know what else to do, to get the kids to respect me, and to be a type-A personality to greet the parents. Any suggestions?
Bkind 01:45 PM 01-22-2013
WATCH A LOT OF SUPER NANNY I found this very helpful