Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Does Everyone Claim Taxes
MommyofThree 10:48 AM 01-06-2012
Ok so I am new to all this and some parents say if they can pay just when kids are here then they wont claim me . So should I give them that option. Who claims the money or who does it under the table. Is it illegal? If you claim how much do you pay or what percentage. Im so lost.
busymommy0420 10:53 AM 01-06-2012
I claim 100% of the money I make for daycare regardless if the family uses it as a deduction or not. I would rather be safe then sorry and pay my taxes on the money I make. I do think it is illegal to not claim money earned.

~There are so many deductions you can make as a business owner to offset the taxes. (Portion of your mortgage, gas, water bill, electricity, food, postage stamps, toys) Tons more. Keep good records!!!!
MommyofThree 10:54 AM 01-06-2012
Originally Posted by busymommy0420:
I claim 100% of the money I make for daycare regardless if the family uses it as a deduction or not. I would rather be safe then sorry and pay my taxes on the money I make. I do think it is illegal to not claim money earned.

~There are so many deductions you can make as a business owner to offset the taxes. (Portion of your mortgage, gas, water bill, electricity, food, postage stamps, toys) Tons more. Keep good records!!!!
Ok but do you have to keep recipts?
Cat Herder 10:55 AM 01-06-2012
Originally Posted by melissathayer28:
Is it illegal?
It is my understanding that it is.

"Under the table" income is something tax auditors are looking for.
MommyofThree 10:56 AM 01-06-2012
Originally Posted by Catherder:
It is my understanding that it is.

"Under the table" income is something tax auditors are looking for.
Ok so what percentage out of the weekly money do I put away?
Cat Herder 10:58 AM 01-06-2012
Ok so what percentage out of the weekly money do I put away?