Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Where To Get Donated Items And Free Or Cheap Materials And Toys?
1MOMs 09:38 PM 10-27-2012
Hi all,

I am new to the home daycare field. I am in the licensing process to begin caring for children in Illinois but I do not have a lot of the toys and materials (storage, furniture, etc.) that is needed to even begin caring for children. I am going to be using the lower level of my home and it is a fairly large area (split into 2 large rooms - one is currently being used as a classroom area because I homeschool my older daughters - and a bathroom). It looks very empty right now, as it was used as my children's "playroom" for them to run around in on days when we've had poor weather. I have children of my own but it is not enough to fill the rooms with or to even begin my program with. Does anyone know people or companies who donate their unwanted toys and materials to new providers? Also, would it be a good idea to go to daycare centers in my area and ask for donations? I don't have hardly any money to buy any items to get started but I want to begin caring for children as soon as I receive my license (which will be within the next 3 weeks). Any help or advice you can offer is greatly appreciated!
Kelly 09:09 AM 10-28-2012
I got most of mine from rummage sales, thrift stores, freecycle and craigslist. Just check items out first to make sure they haven't been recalled.
LK5kids 10:18 AM 10-28-2012
I owned a group center that was licensed for 30 children and filled it entirely with rummage sale toys.
Those toys are long gone as I sold that business a long time ago. I only bought cribs for full price.

I'm getting back into family day care and I've been going to rummage sales, GoodWill and a children's consignment store for toys and equipment.