Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Handprints of fabric....
DaycareMama 05:52 PM 11-20-2011
I want to have the kids put hand prints (turkeys) on fabric. I have never done this before. What is the best kind of paint to use that wont stain hands, or wash out of the fabric? Do I need to wash and dry the fabric first?

walmart sells puffy fabric paint??? Is that what I use? can I paint the kids hands with that? it does say non toxic.
Kaddidle Care 06:11 PM 11-20-2011
Acrylic paints won't wash out of fabric. It also won't wash off their clothes so be very careful with it. Make sure they use smocks and maybe warn the parents to put them in something old/junky that day as you are crafting.

Yes, it's best to wash and dry the fabric - what is it exactly? Sounds cute to do the Turkeys. We were doing placemats with the hand turkeys for our Feast but we just did paper ones that we are laminating.

Puffy paints are acrylic so they will work. I use this type - not sure if this is the brand but it's what I've used for stenciling as well:
http://paintmeplaid.files.wordpress....2810_mp_31.jpg

They need to dry at least 12 hours - 24 hours is best.

Have fun!
mom2many 06:14 PM 11-20-2011
Originally Posted by DaycareMama:
I want to have the kids put hand prints (turkeys) on fabric. I have never done this before. What is the best kind of paint to use that wont stain hands, or wash out of the fabric? Do I need to wash and dry the fabric first?

walmart sells puffy fabric paint??? Is that what I use? can I paint the kids hands with that? it does say non toxic.
For Christmas I have done pot holders for the parents with their child's hand prints and I use fabric paint from Michael's craft store. It's just an acrylic paint that has something added to it, so it won't wash out. It doesn't stain their hands. They recommend that you wash and dry the fabric first, but I have done it w/o and it works just fine.
DaycareMama 06:22 PM 11-20-2011