Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Employees
winkiedee 04:07 AM 06-29-2012
I am having the worst trouble with my employees requesting alot of time off and calling in. I have 14 employees and most of the time I need every one of them. Sometimes when there isnt alot of kids i can send an employee or two home early by juggling kids around. But man lately its been awful. Anyone else with this sort of problem.

Denise
Sugar Magnolia 11:36 AM 06-29-2012
I don't have that problem with my center, but I only have 2 employees and one is my husband. I belong to our local Early Learning Coalition and they have a substitute program. It is pricey. I was a restaurant manager for years as well and I had a LOT of call offs. Those people got canned. But if someone requests off in advance,y ou really should grant it. What is your request-time-off policy? If they are not following policy, dont grant the request and no-shows get canned immediately.
My3cents 01:01 PM 06-29-2012
time to have a staff meeting-

Summer time is hard- no excuse just fact.

Go over staff policy again. Address all other issues at the same time.
pootmcgoot 01:36 PM 06-29-2012
Can them and hire people who respect your center and value the privilege of having a job. Around here if you call off you get canned. Jobs are so scarce here. It's totally disrespectful to just throw it in the trash.
cheerfuldom 02:56 PM 06-29-2012
I agree with the staff meeting to go over policy. Then recognize those with good attendance. maybe a small gift card or something if you can.
littlemissmuffet 05:17 PM 06-29-2012